unnamed-1
Oreo & S’mores 🙂

Dear Cassie,

 

Who in the right mind appreciates allergies? Nobody! There are so many forms of allergies – sneezing, itching, coughing, hives, etc. None of these symptoms are fun!

As you know, I just very recently adopted 2 of the cutest kittens … and my god are they adorable. I can’t get enough of them! They have the tiniest meows and they are constantly seeking human attention. How can anyone not love them? They sleep with us at night time on the bed, and try a million different ways to find their comfort spot before they finally lay down and go to sleep. They will lay back facing me, turn around to face me, curled up close against one arm then the other, lay on top of me, head butt me to make sure I’m not part of the blanket that is directly below my face, so on and so forth. Sometimes, they will even lay next to me and put their arm on top of mine … how fucking cute, right?! Ahh, I can’t even with their level of cuteness and I feel so fortunate to have both of them in my life.

Now, why can’t my body accept it? Why can’t my body just accept what the mind wants and be happy with it?! Last night I woke up next to S’mores, and my nose all of a sudden thought it was a waterfall. Not only that, my eyes started itching and turning into what seemed to feel like giant marshmallows, my throat decided to give up and stop working – I was hardly able to breathe properly! I didn’t think too much of it, because I had fallen asleep with the windows opened last night and I didn’t have a blanket on so I thought I was just getting sick. But when I couldn’t take it any more, I took a non-drowsy Loratadine pill to ease the allergies just in case, even though I didn’t think that was the problem. Nope, I was wrong – they were allergic reactions. Within 10 minutes of taking the pill, my nostrils cleared up, my eyes didn’t itch as much, and my throat opened back up. How unfortunate.

I went through the same episode with our last cat, Cinnamon, and that went on for about a month. With Cinnamon, I just wouldn’t be able to stop sneezing … and sneezing constantly sucks! Your body uses so much energy each time you sneeze, that by the time the sneezing ceases, your body is ready to give up and go to sleep.

I think that since I grew up with dogs, my body isn’t used to cat hair, which is why it takes me a little longer to adapt to living with cats. But … why me? Out of everyone in this world, why put a crazy cat lady into misery? It’s only been a few days since we got them, so I’m sure my allergies will clear up here soon. In the meantime …. I just thought I’d let you know … that this fucking sucks.

Catily,

Anita

