Dear Cassie,

Have I ever told you how your super clean apartment inspires me to keep mine neat and tidy? Your apartment inspires me to clean and organize a little bit every day, to where the goal I’m trying to reach is to have a clean apartment like yours. Is that too much to ask for? 😥

Now, as you know, I live with my boyfriend who’s a typical … well, dude. The second he comes home, socks magically fly off of his feet landing in one direction and then another. Sometimes they like to play hide and seek – and sometimes the ones that aren’t found are left underneath the couch collecting dust until one day … well, you get the picture.

I never wanted to do anything at home besides nap, because the mess and clutter in our apartment was too overwhelming, and drove me crazy. Being a girl, I’m utterly useless in even trying to move any furniture around. I can probably push/pull a couple centimeters at a time, but what good would that do? And what if glass furnishings fall and break? The other day I was trying to use an L-bracket for this wooden DVD shelving unit that we have and I was thinking, I got this! Well, I got excited too soon. Because as soon as it was time to put the nail through the hole of the bracket and into the wood unit, I had second thoughts and well, gave up.

Last Friday, our next door neighbor, a single, heavier set lady moved out due to having a knee injury and going up and down the stairs puts a strain on her body. And last Saturday, our downstairs neighbor moved back home to Texas. So, we took advantage of having our side of the building completely empty!!

Sunday night we buckled down some ideas and put them to work right away – rotating furniture from the office area to the bedroom, and from the bedroom to the living room. Dark carpets were stripped from the apartment, keeping its original beige carpeting from when we first moved in. And my gosh, what a difference that made! The apartment seems so much brighter, not to mention, bigger. A shared office space in the dining room is now only my boyfriend’s, while my office is beside our bed facing the window – there is life outside of our apartment!

I wish I had taken a before/after picture because the difference is amazing. But, the best part of it is that I don’t feel so bogged down when I’m home now and I am actually able to enjoy our living space! 🙂 On top of that, we didn’t finish everything until about 4am so I only got to sleep for 2 very short hours. So, I went to bed around 7pm and was able to sleep for 11 hours last night before the start of today’s shift. Who gets that?! Haha.

It’s a good feeling to be able to clean up and be excited to go back to your apartment, instead of finding any and every excuse to go out just so you don’t have to be home. A less cluttered place makes for a less cluttered mind.

Joyfully,

Anita

